

Chariho Regional School District

April 2021 E-Update



NOTICE



TO ALL VOTERS IN THE

CHARIHO REGIONAL SCHOOL DISTRICT

Please make every effort to vote, in your town of residence, on

Tuesday, April 6, 2021 at the

CHARIHO BUDGET ALL-DAY REFERENDUM.

Polling places, noted below, are

open from <u>8:00 AM to 8:00 PM.</u>

Charlestown Town Hall

Hopkinton Town Hall

Richmond Town Hall

REMINDER:

The budget vote on Tuesday, April 6, 2021 is NOT a vote to approve any new elementary school plans.

Click HERE to review our top 5 community questions about the budget.

Click HERE to submit a question that you would like added to our frequently asked questions document regarding the Elementary School Facilities Project.

Click HERE to watch the school committee meeting that reviews next steps for our Elementary Schools facility project planning. News Worth Knowing...



Kindergarten Registration is open. Our K Flyer can be found HERE.

Our 2020-2021 School Calendar can be found HERE.

COVID-19 Outbreak Response Protocols: PreK-12 Playbook is located HERE.

Check out the next issue of "We Are Chariho", a newsletter aimed at celebrating Chariho's past, present, and future. The current issue and archives can be found HERE.



Follow us on Twitter @CharihoRegional

More News Worth Knowing...



Spreading Smiles in Chariho-April

Starting in February Chariho Regional Schools started a monthly spreading smiles initiative. Our <u>April theme</u> is focused on Student and Staff spotlights. We are asking everyone to show their support by highlighting/spotlighting students and staff for achievements and recognitions. We are looking forward to all the ways our community will spread their smiles and shine the spotlight! Tag <u>@CharihoRegional</u> on Twitter using #SpotlightChariho

Maddie Potts Memorial Field House



To read about the Life and Legacy of Madeline "Maddie" Potts <u>click here</u>.

To purchase an engraved brick for the path leading to the Maddie Potts Memorial Field House click here.



As a reminder the <u>Barry J. Ricci Memorial</u> <u>Scholarship</u> has opened. This scholarship is open to seniors who are pursuing a two or four-year degree at an accredited school, college, or university. More information can be found <u>here</u>. Deadline for submission is May 3, 2021.

Important April dates

Friday, April 2nd No School

Tuesday, April 6th

All Day Referendum on the Budget

Wednesday, April 7th

Anti-Racism Task Force Meeting 7:00 pm

Tuesday, April 13th

Chariho Regional School Committee Meeting 7:00 pm

Monday April 19th-Friday April 23rd

No School, some staff and all students



Congratulations!

Grade 10 student Virginia Keister, winner of Poetry Out Loud Competition.

Grade 11 Hospitality Students (Anya Betts, Miakoda Elefante, Althea Grandchamp, Lauren Hubertus, Vera Judkins, Molly Juenger, Lia Kelvington, Isabella Santos, Mia Wilcox and Gabriella Wolfe) participated in the Guest Service Gold Training and successfully passed the certification with honors.

Postseason Awards

Ice hockey--Caden Wilson (2nd Team All-Division D-2 South (defense), All-Star Game selection, Hobey Baker Award Nominee); Jay Desrosiers (1st Team All-Division D-2 South (forward), All-Star Game selection); Shaun Quirk-Narragansett (2nd Team All-Division D-2 South (forward).

Girls' Indoor Track--Paige Grissom (Academic All-State), Abby Cole (Academic All-State), Erin von Housen (1st Team All-State 1000 Meters and 1500 meters and Coach's Award), Margaret Weeden (3rd Team All-State High Jump).

Boys' Indoor Track--Joseph Golas (All-Class 4x800 relay), Kyle Ackroyd (All-Class 4x800 relay), Noah Dinucci (All-Class 4x800 relay), Miller Marcille (All-Class 4x800 relay), Finn Weeden (All Class 3000 meters).

Boys' Basketball--Jarrett Boisclair (1st Team All-Division 2 South), **Tyler LaBelle** (2nd Team All Division 2 South), **Zachary Boschwitz** (3rd Team All-Division 2 South).

Girls' Basketball--Spencer Shiels (1st Team All-Division 2 South), Shelby Roode (2nd Team All Division 2 South), Jules White (3rd Team All-Division 2 South). Gymnastics--Randi Swenson (2nd Team All-Division), Isabella Santos (3rd Team All-Division), Lauren Hubertus (3rd Team All-Division).